My birthday…in photos

So today is my birthday, the day I reach the grand old age of 31. I had lots of ideas with regards to what to write about today for your reading pleasure, but I thought I’d shelve those in favour of a snapshot of my day…in photos. So I’m going to take my iPad everywhere with me today and basically photograph as I go. It’s a little bit different to my previous posts but a change is good right? Anyway, I hope you like it, I’m off to start snapping…

photoCADYLO25

As much as I would have loved a lie in today, alas, it is not to be as the school run is calling. Cue frantic ironing, lunchbox making and homework sorting. PFB duly dropped off at school (to protests of “but i can’t go to school today because it’s your birthday…nice try) and back home to get myself ready for yet another hospital appointment…on my birthday?!photoCAVMDORW

 Lots of this on the cards today as PSB is unwell with a congestion and cough. Hate seeing him unwell.

photoCAJCPOAQ

So this was is birthday outfit of choice: plain white top, navy spotted skirt, navy tights, tan boots…simple but effective.

photoCAKGGMJG

My lovely silver fingerprint necklace is the chosen jewellery for today. I’m quite plain when it comes to ‘day’ jewellery and am definitely a ‘silver’ kind of person as opposed to ‘gold’.

photoCAWVJR5D

Some of my lovely birthday cards from my lovely family and friends (some needing more parental guidance in the presence of small children than others).

photoCAQAEP0U

And here it is, the piece de resistance. My AMAZING birthday present. I love it already (don’t tell my sewing machine, it might get offended).

photoCAHLH2BL

I was surprised with a knock at the door last night and was even more taken aback with my birthday cake gift from Little Black Hen. How gorgeous is this? Simple and elegant.

photoCAK1YQ7A

Obviously, the bulbs that we planted in the Autumn know it is my birthday as today, we have our first flower. Spring is on its way folks (at least I hope it is! Knowing our luck, the bulbs will flower over the next few weeks only to be killed off by freak freezing conditions in March)

photoCAVMDORW

More of this in order

photoCAPZQNIU

My idea of heaven…having some funny looks whilst taking this one!

photoCA4XQ1VN

This, however, was the sight that greeted me when I returned from Hobbycraft: my lovely lamp obliterated by PSB.

photoCA4AC41B

Some gorgeous surprise flowers from some friends that have just been delivered. I always have flowers in the house, makes it look more welcoming in my opinion.

photoCAYLAWN8

And here they are, the first spoils of the Kitchenaid. Not bad for a first attempt, even if I do say so myself! They’ve turned out to be a bit of a labour of love if I’m honest, but they do look pretty.

photoCARI1ZW2

And they’ll also be great as little ‘thank yous’ for the gifts I’ve received today.

photoCAVMDORW

And some more…

photoCA6H25OR

My birthday dinner…hot, spicy and fantastic. I have to admit, I’m a big fan of chillies and am prone to adding them to quite a few recipes…recipes that don’t usually have chilli in them! This takeaway is gorgeous, a great end to a great day.

photoCA6O7QID

Do I really have any room to fit in a slice of this? Silly question…

 So there we go, my birthday in photos. Hope you’ve enjoyed viewing them as much as I enjoyed taking them, even though it did raise a few eyebrows in public places (I did stop to buy a bottle of diet coke in the local Co-op on the way home from picking up the takeaway, but resisted the urge to take a photo in fear of being ‘talked about’ by the locals).

 Over and out…

5 thoughts on “My birthday…in photos

Leave a Reply

