That Friday Feeling…

And so it’s the weekend again and what a weekend it’s likely to be! It’s an early start tomorrow to get myself looking halfway decent for a day out with friends to Cardiff. Cue the hunt for the dust covered heated rollers, a frantic false tan application and the debacle that will be searching for a suitable handbag…can you tell that any form of regular social outing is somewhat lacking? And then of course, there’s the getting ready with two small boys hanging around my neck. No doubt my preening ritual will be hampered by desperately trying to stop PSB (Perfect Second Born) getting first degree burns from my hair straightener and keeping one eye on PFB’s (Perfect First Born)attempts to sharpen my eyeliner pencils into oblivion. But it’s all fun…right? (If I keep telling myself that, one day I may start to believe it!)

So an update on my previous “5 Things I Need To Do” list.

1.Start (and finish) this week’s orders

To say it’s been a busy week work-wise is ever such a slight understatement. I have been overwhelmed by orders…overwhelmed in a “can’t believe it” kind of way as opposed to a “I can’t cope” manner. Seriously though, it’s so encouraging and I’m absolutely loving this working for myself lark. And there are quite a few exciting developments in the pipeline for Calonogi, so watch this space…

image image (3) image (2) image (1)

2.Update my website

Ok, so remember when I said that of the five things on my list, this was the most likely to fall by the wayside? Well it has…epic fail.

3. Have a toy clear out

Breaking News…You will be pleased to know that we no longer need to vacate out current place of abode and neither are Buzz Lightyear, Optimus Prime and Fireman Sam liable for rent (which is quite a relief as I didn’t really fancy the legalities of drawing up rental agreements for plastic figurines and then there was the issue of collecting all of the arrears…it wouldn’t have been pretty).

image (4) image (5)

4. Have a clothes clear out

I am also pleased to report that there is no longer a single odd sock in this house (unless one day I actually find that den of iniquity where all the “cool” lost socks hang out, drinking some illicitly produced hooch and playing poker). I feel that my soul was cleansed just that little bit more with each item of clothing that was put in the “Charity Clothes Bank” pile…

image (6) image (7)

5. Find myself a suitable outfit for a day out with the girls

This has been something of a challenge, not least because of the freakishly cold weather that we’re experiencing at the moment. On Tuesday, the weather was glorious; slightly crisp, but gorgeously sunny and warm enough to take PSB out to do a bit of Spring planting in the garden. We thoroughly enjoyed…not even PSB’s spectacular tumble right into the box of freshly purchased flowers could dampen my spirits (the pansies, however, looked rather sorry for themselves following their acquaintance with a two year old’s backside).

image (14) image (13) image (15) image (16)

So it was unsurprising that this lovely weather had a bearing upon the outfit that I bought that afternoon. It was a pretty navy and flamingo print skater dress that I would have completely frozen in given the dramatic change of weather…minus two degrees whilst doing the school run yesterday!? Needless to say, I had to revert to “plan b” with regards to my outfit choice and have plumped for a slightly more substantial dress and jacket combination.

image (8)

So there we go, my list complete…almost.

My efforts to provide enriching life experiences for PSB have continued with various outings and activities undertaken throughout the week. This evening we baked some biscuits (although I waited for PFB to return from school before we embarked on this task for fear of complete and utter PFB meltdown…he really likes to decorate biscuits). It didn’t start particularly well as the initial excitement spilled into a full on cookie cutter fight with PSB eagerly trying to knock PFB’s cutter out of his way so that he could cut out stars as opposed to PSB’s circles. Then there was the “flour” incident with PFB managing to cover half the kitchen in white dust as he threw the whole lot of flour into the food mixer at the same time…with the mixer on full speed. And whilst I turned my back, PSB had managed to crawl over the floured worktop, cleaning the surface with his jeans as he went: cue frantic clothes removal to avoid any further flour spreading. So with a half naked PSB and a moody PFB (following the row after the flour/mixer incident) we moved onto decorating. With icing. Blue icing. BIG mistake…unless you really want to see what your children would actually look like as real life smurfs. I managed to do a pretty good job of covering myself with the food colouring too and of course, it takes a few days to fade, which did instil a slight panic moment at the thought of having to go to Cardiff tomorrow with blue hands. I have consoled myself that this particular shade of food colouring, Wilton Sky Blue, will complement my chosen colour of nail varnish quite well…crisis averted.

image (9) image (10) image (11) image (12)

I am absolutely and totally looking forward to tomorrow’s shenanigans BUT I will have to regularly remind myself that I have 30 cupcakes to make on Sunday morning in readiness for a birthday party in the afternoon and then have to attend said party to face paint some kiddiwinkles who I’m sure would appreciate minty fresh breath as opposed to mojito infused exhalations.

I shall report back for duty on Monday and update you on the weekends frolicsomeness (it is a word, I checked).

Have a good weekend all…over and out.

6 thoughts on “That Friday Feeling…

Leave a Reply

